curry kabobs

I substituted 2 boneless, skinless chicken thighs for half of the chicken breasts in this recipe because my son likes dark meat.  And of course, I used the George Foreman grill. It’s a lot less complicated than a barbecue and I can use it indoors in a New York apartment. I would prefer a stronger curry flavor, as I’ve noted in the recipe. In any case, the chicken turned out juicy and tender.

Curry Kabobs (adapted from allrecipes.com)
 
INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup mayonnaise (light mayo in the original recipe, which I think is too sweet)
1-2 teaspoons minced garlic
1-2 teaspoons curry powder
1/2-1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon minced  ginger (1/2 teaspoon ground ginger in the original recipe)
1 1/2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cubed

DIRECTIONS:
1. In a large, shallow dish, mix the mayonnaise, garlic, curry powder, chili powder, and ginger. Place the chicken in the mixture, and stir to coat. Cover, and refrigerate for 2 to 4 hours. Cook’s Note: I marinated the chicken for 24 hours in the refrigerator. It was still good.

2. Preheat the grill at medium-high heat.

3. Discard marinade, and thread chicken pieces onto skewers.

4. Lightly oil the grill grate. Grill skewers, turning often, for 5 to 10 minutes, or until chicken juices run clear. Cook’s Note: I didn’t bother with the skewers. I grilled the chicken 3 minutes in the George Foreman grill.

5. Serve the grilled chicken over rice, if desired. I served it with harissa, roasted vegetables, steamed green beans, and cool cucumber slices.

Tell me what you think!

