Ginger-Steamed Fish with Troy’s Hana Style Sauce

I’m not sure who Troy is.

I tried this recipe from Eating Well because it only has 310 calories per 5-oz. serving of fish fillet. Anyway, I left my steamer in Bangkok and I was too lazy to improvise one so I baked the fish with a quarter cup of water in the pan. I think that could be increased to half cup because the edges of the fillets were a bit dry. The sauce itself turned out to be slightly bitter tasting which AJ didn’t mind but it bothered me. If it bothers you add a pinch of sugar to the sauce. Or sugar substitute if you’re watching calories like I am.

Fish
6 5-oz white fish fillets
6 1/4 inch slices peeled fresh ginger

Sauce
1/4 cup minced fresh peeled ginger
1/4 cup minced fresh garlic
1/4 cup sesame seeds
2 tablespoons canola or grape seed oil
2 tablespoons sesame oil
1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
2-3 minced scallion for garnish
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro for garnish (recommended)

Place the ginger slices on top of the fish and steam. About 7 minutes per inch thickness of the fillet. I baked the fillets in a baking dish filled with 1/4 cup water (recommend 1/2 cup) in a 350˚F oven for half an hour.

Meanwhile, in a food processor work bowl, put the ginger and garlic and process until fine. Remove to a small bowl and add the sesame seeds. In a large skillet, heat the canola or grape seed oil and fry the ginger mixture until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the sesame oil and heat, stirring. Add the soy sauce. Taste the sauce. If it’s bitter, add a pinch of sugar.

Discard the ginger slices on the fish fillets. Spread the sauce on top of the fish fillets. Sprinkle tops with scallion and cilantro, if using.

Tell me what you think!

