butter-fried butter cake slices with berries

I know this sounds crazy…but don’t knock it till you’ve tried it! Butter cake slices that are buttered and fried till crisp around the edges and eaten with fresh berries and fresh-squeezed tangerine juice. I sweetened the berries with a packet of Truvia. Then I ate it. I ate the whole thing. for. breakfast. All of it. Confess. What are your own guilty pleasures?

Click to play this Smilebox collage
Create your own collage - Powered by Smilebox
This digital collage personalized with Smilebox
12 thoughts on “butter-fried butter cake slices with berries

  1. Oh, Joanie! Is this the recipe of the little cakes at the top? I forgot to ask my mom about her pie recipe. Don’t let me forget. Poke me in the ribs if you have to. I call her like 5 times a day! πŸ™‚
    But this is the one you were talking about, right?

      1. I called my mom just now. She’s going to give it to me when she gets home. Where did you get the cute little cake tins? They are so tiny and cute. Maybe I could find them at Michael’s? They are the perfect size. It’s like a serving!
        And I like your confession of eating the whole thing for breakfast. Lord knows, I’ve done that kind of thing before. My guilty pleasures are anything with sugar in it. For New Year’s I decided to try to go sugar-free. I’m doing okay. I’m not sugar free just yet. But I’m definately sugar-less. Get it? πŸ˜€

  2. I got it! Good on you, girl!

    As for the tins, I bought those in Bangkok but you can find similar ones at any baking supply store. In New York City, I saw them before Christmas at New York Cake and Bake on West 22nd Street. And they are also available at restaurant supply stores–cheaper too, if you can find them. In New York, that would be on the Bowery south of Houston Street all the way down to Canal Street.

    1. Oh good! I’ll have to look for them. It’s the main reason I don’t make cake. I’m thinking—I’m not going to eat that big ol’ cake, or I shouldn’t, anyway! But the little ones, now that would be a great treat!

      1. Oh! Mini loaves! I already have mini loaf pans! Score. I like the little ones though for my niece. She’s 10 so that would be right up her alley! And I’ve always liked tiny foods. πŸ™‚
        Sometimes if I go to a restaurant, I just order the starters!

    1. I do like tapas! πŸ™‚

      Pingbacks: So, once you finish writing your article, scroll down to the bottom and at the bottom right it will have a list of related articles you can choose from. Click on the ones you’d like to display on the bottom of your page. It pulls them for you so you don’t have to bother and gives you a choice. Does that make sense?

      If you have a certain one you want to use, you can copy and paste it in.

      1. When you’re typing in your dashboard, go to the bottom and type in Related Articles or Other cake recipes, etc. And then type in the name of the link you want to use.
      Ex.

      Other Sweet Potatoe articles:
      My grandma’s sweet potato pie. (foodiejoanie.wordpress.com)

      2. Copy just the URL from the page you want to use.—like Joanie’s sweet pot. pie recipe
      3. Now back on your dashboard, highlight that entire sentence like (my grandma’s sweet potato pie.)
      4.(Do you know how to add a link?) Up at the top where you can add in pictures, etc. you’ll see the little chain link. The one beside it is a chain that’s been broken. If you click on the chain, it will bring up a new box and you can paste in the URL. Be sure you click the small square to open up a new page. That way when someone clicks on that pingback, it will open up in a new page and not take the reader away from YOUR page.

      I did this all the time at first and it’s really time-consuming, but it’s a lot easier if you just use the ones they’ve pulled for you. (They go off key words you’re typing in like cake or lemon or cook or cookbook or eggs. I’ve heard not to put on more than 3 or 4 pingbacks or you’ll get less hits. Who knows if that’s true?)

      If you didn’t understand, I didn’t explain it properly. And some of it you probably already knew! It’s so much easier in person, right? But I’ll try again. We’ll get this!

Tell me what you think!

