green onion cornbread

Never trust an internet recipe that doesn’t have pictures.

That’s what I learned after I searched the internet this weekend for a low carb cornbread recipe. What I discovered were two recipes (among many) that proved to me that a cornbread can be made without cornmeal. It was important to me to find a low carb recipe to go with my White Chicken Chili recipe. After all, what is  chili without cornbread.

The first recipe for “cornbread” required both almond and hazelnut flours, which were $11.00 each at Whole Foods. But I should have been wary. There were no photographs to show that the recipe was indeed kitchen tested. This “cornbread” was inedible; it was oily and tasteless. So, tonight–I am nothing it not determined– I tried the second recipe, this one from lowcarbist.com, called Green Onion Cornbread. This website had great pictures of the cornbread.

Though it also has not one bit of cornmeal in it, it turned out light and moist in texture, a great low carb accompaniment to my White Chicken Chili. I tweaked the recipe a bit. I thought it would be easier to mix if I melted the butter. Like all quick breads, this one shouldn’t be over mixed either. In fact, my cornbread came out exactly like the pictured one!

Green Onion Cornbread

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1-2 green onions, chopped
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted then cooled slightly
  • 1/4 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease one 8” square pan with cooking spray. Set aside.

In a bowl, mix together wet ingredients and green onions, then add dry ingredients and mix again.
Pour into greased baking dish then bake for 20 minutes or until edges begin to brown.

8 thoughts on “green onion cornbread

    1. Quick import to MFP shows the following per serving (recipe divided into 9 servings):

      124 calories, with:
      4 grams protein
      11 grams fat
      3 grams carbohydrate
      1 gram fiber

      Looks like 2g net carbs.

Tell me what you think!

