cooking when company’s coming

If a hurricane named Sandy counts as company.  Sandy has forced me to take stock of the pantry and the fridge. I went out to the market this morning to pick up onions, bread, bananas, and a barbecue lighter. If these seem odd choices when a hurricane is imminent, well, I suppose it’s because I’ve either gone into survival mode or I’m mad. Or both. Last night I made a kaeng a Thai coconut curry soup–its spiciness was bracing, perfect for a near-stormy night. Tonight should have been our burger night-out but we will be eating in. I think I will make quinoa patties.

Tell me what you think!

