back in bangkok

Greyhound's Coconut Piek
Greyhound’s Coconut Piek

I’ve been off the blog for some weeks now because of the move from New York to Bangkok. I’ve been cleaning out my kitchen cupboards since I got back, and when my cleaning lady came yesterday, she did the heavy work of cleaning the exteriors. The very next two days we got here, we went to IKEA Bangkok to buy some shelf units called Varierra to extend our storage space–we have a tall cabinet for glassware with only one shelf. All the glasses and mugs were nested. So untidy, not to mention a lot of breakage.

Last night I cooked a meal in my clean kitchen. I miss my Calphalon cookware which was duly packed on August 15 and is sailing over the Pacific by ship, not due to arrive until sometime in October. While I make do I have been re-visiting my favorite places to eat. Of course I had to go to Peng Kee at Seacon Square for my crystal cake fix (Kanom Goh Sen or Mochi Sticks). That was after I had a bowl of fresh homemade noodles at Chiseng Lamian. Other foodie adventures: We went to Bangkok Hospital for dinner at Fuji; some of the best restaurants in town are in hospitals. They make the medicine go down easier. Then I went upscale to Greyhound at Emporium where Asian fusion is their claim. I had the Coconut Piek (literally “wet coconut”) for dessert, a visually stunning concoction featuring saku or sago a delicate shade of Blue Curacao blue but without the Blue Curacao, served with salty coconut cream, slivers of fresh young coconut, and a scoop of coconut sherbet for sweetness’ sake. So delicious. 

nutella bars made with oat crisps
nutella bars made with oat crisps

Since our arrival in Bangkok, I’ve been shopping at the supermarkets and looking at the prices. For instance, avocados here are more expensive than New York. What would be a local substitute for an avocado, I wonder?  I’m determined to find something not only budget friendly but also tasty! My first attempts at finding substitutions are conservative if not successful. I transformed my TJ Cocoa Almond Bars recipe into Nutella Oat Crisp bars. Substituting oat crisps for graham crackers resulted in crumbs that are dry and crunchy, making these chocolate bars taste like Nestlé crunch bars. The oat crisps, BTW, came from IKEA. IKEA, you’re my everything! This morning I turned leftovers into breakfast. I did a riff on the Egg McMuffin with a fried egg and a stick of gai yang (grilled pork) sandwiched between two broccoli-tomato fritters. It was good!

fried egg and gai yang (grilled pork) sandwiched between two broccoli-tomato fritters
fried egg and gai yang (grilled pork) sandwiched between two broccoli-tomato fritters

Since good food is the stuff of (my) life, my blog is going to shift focus. Still writing about preparing and eating food  but now I will also write about adapting my favorite recipes and new to local ingredients.

One thought on “back in bangkok

  1. Good website! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a great day! fefckeddgeda

Tell me what you think!

