home made yogurt

DSC02543

I know I’m home when I take up my old routines! I still haven’t completely unpacked our boxes from New York but I made yogurt. I used to make yogurt all the time in Bangkok because I could never find a decent plain yogurt here. That is, yogurt that is unsweetened. Having plain yogurt on hand is great because with a bit of honey and fruit it’s breakfast or dessert. I can also use it to make smoothies, salad dressings, and as a substitute for expensive sour cream in cakes. Sometimes I would strain it with coffee filters to make Greek style yogurt. So yogurt is an essential part of my kitchen. Also essential to the success of yogurt making is that the yogurt starter must contain active cultures. And you will need a candy thermometer because temperature is the key to setting yogurt.

You’ll need

1 x 140g carton plain yogurt with active cultures, for example Dutchie
200 ml whole milk
200 ml 0% milk

In a kettle, boil enough water to sterilize 5 canning jars. Pour the boiled water in the jars and let it stand 5 minutes. Pour out the water and set aside the clean jars.

In a large pot heat the two kinds of milk over medium high heat. Put the candy thermometer in the pot.

Cook’s Note: Some yogurt makers say that yogurt made with only 0% milk won’t set. But I’ve found that it does;  it’s just more watery. Yogurt actually sets better with whole milk. So I make a large batch combining both the whole and 0% milk to fill 4 1/2 Kerr canning jars.

When the temperature of the milk reaches 150˚F, you’ll notice there are tiny bubbles all around the rim of the pot. Turn off the heat. Let the milk cool to 120˚F. Add the entire carton of yogurt and stir well. Ladle the milk mixture into the clean jars.

Place the jars in a draft free area, like the oven, to set. The yogurt will set in 5 hours. Screw on the lids and refrigerate at once.

Cook’s Note: You’ll know the yogurt has set because, when you tilt the jar, the milk mixture has thickened so it doesn’t move or shake. When it is cold, eat! But remember to save 1/2 cup of yogurt as starter for the next batch.

As Ina Garten would say, “How easy is that?”

Tell me what you think!

