a look at my top posts

According to My Stats, these 10 posts from my site,  were the most viewed to date. What surprises me most about number 1 is that it is so simple to make. Perhaps its status reflects a trend among readers. These two  tags, “gluten-free” and “vegan” demonstrate concerns about health and nutrition. However, that doesn’t explain the popularity of the next most viewed recipe, which is a copycat version of a famous cake. In fact, the top 10 is decidedly eclectic. What stands out to me in these popular posts is the fact that fresh, natural ingredients have all been used. Even the paradise cake, a three layer multi-colored cake, was made with natural food colors. Cooking good tasting nutritious food is a worthy goal, and it seems that readers agree with me.

  1. Gluten-free brown rice flour pancakes with strawberries
  2. Hawaiian paradise cake, version 1.0
  3. Kanom krok: Thai coconut-rice pancakes
  4. Chicken with garlic, basil, and cilantro
  5. The versatile crustless zucchini quiche
  6. Mocha chocolate icebox cake
  7. Yogurt marinated oven-fried chicken
  8. Chocolate raspberry pavlova
  9. Turkey, leek, and winter melon shepherd’s pie with mashed cauliflower
  10. When life gives you lemons, make spaghetti al limone

While these popular posts go back to when I first started blogging on WordPress in 2011, for me, 2013 was a year of learning more about cooking and baking. The lesson learned that baking by weight leads to a more successful product is something that I will always remember whatever I bake.  This year I feel I was bolder; I  began to tweak recipes. I revisited an old favorite, Craig Claiborne’s The New York Times Cookbook recipe for banana tea bread, and personalized it. In my evolution as a cook, I have followed but also adapt recipes. To take it to the next level, to develop my own recipes,  I am still learning! From this year alone, these posts are my personal favorites. I selected them based on their taste, texture, and eye-appeal. They were simply memorable–and fun to cook, bake, and eat!

  1. Downy yellow bundt butter cake
  2. Strawberry Snow Fro-Yo
  3. Chinese barbecued spareribs and sesame noodles
  4. Homemade ginger ale
  5. Easter dinner for two
  6. Low-fat broccoli tomato fritters
  7. Banana bread with rum and almonds and turbinado sugar topping
  8. Butternut squash soup with coconut cream.
  9. Roasted Asian vegetable mac and cheese with chorizo and garlic-panko topping
  10. Fried cauliflower rice with Chinese sausage and seasoned shiitake mushrooms

Sawadi pi mai from Bangkok!

Foodie Joanie

DSC02786
sour milk cake with cranberries

2 thoughts on “a look at my top posts

  1. JoAnne, This blog is outstanding! These all look so delicious. I’m going to check them out. It’s probably not easy for you to do this, but it would be great if you could hyperlink your next list (for those times when I just can’t wait to eat!) Super job. Super blog!

Tell me what you think!

