quick and easy plain home-made yogurt

DSC03487

I have decided to stop eating junk food during the week when I’m at school. I’ve only been eating healthy on weekends and it’s beginning to show on the scale. I’ve begun to feel uncomfortably bloated.  So this week, I made a pot of guisada at home to take with me for meals during the week. I also made a bowl of yogurt to go, and I’m bringing about a half dozen ripe mangoes with me to enjoy.

Mangoes are in season, and we are enjoying the bounties from neighbors, family, and friends. Even if they don’t have a tree, we share the riches. There’s nothing like a bowl of ice cold mango topped with fresh yogurt. And the best kind of yogurt is the one you make yourself. It’s so pretty, the top is like glass! It reflects the view from my kitchen window. Here is my recipe for yogurt that sets in an hour.

Plain Yogurt

1 8 oz carton of plain yogurt, it must have active yogurt cultures
1 liter whole milk

In a medium saucepan, pour the milk. Put the pot over a medium flame and heat until tiny bubbles form around the edges. On a candy thermometer, this would read about 150˚F. This is called scalding milk. It takes about 10 minutes. Turn off the flame and let the milk cool to between 115˚F to 110˚F. If a skin forms on top of the milk, skim it off with a spatula and discard.

When the milk has reach the cooler temperature, add the entire carton of yogurt and stir. Transfer to a ceramic dish and cover it. Put it in a warm draft free place for about 1 hour to set. You will know it has set when the surface is solid to touch and when the bowl is tilted, there is no liquid sloshing about.

Refrigerate overnight. Or if you can’t wait that long, at least 4-6 hours. Eat the yogurt you made with fresh fruit. And like I said, a ripe ice cold mango is so delicious with home made yogurt. There is nothing more satisfying (and virtuous) than eating your own yogurt. To quote Ina Garten, “How easy is that?”

 

Tell me what you think!

