quick and easy tonkatsu Japanese breaded cutlets with red-brown rice, broccoli and carrots

I’ve had so much traffic this weekend for the green onion cornbread post two years ago. I hope the people who dropped in to look will come back again!

DSC04119

Last night, I took a break from grades to revisit an old favorite, tonkatsu, a Japanese breaded pork (or chicken) cutlet served with rice and vegetables. I love it with a special homemade tonkatsu sauce but I had no time to make it this weekend. I took a shortcut and put some fried garlic in a 1/4 cup of barbecue sauce so that made it quick and easy! I used a little oil to coat a nonstick pan but you can use cooking spray instead.

Breaded Cutlets
1 large chicken breast, slice thinly in half then cut each patty in half
1/2 pork tenderloin, silver removed, cut into four pieces and pound flat
1 cup panko breadcrumbs (can substitute ordinary breadcrumbs)
1 egg, beaten with a tablespoon water
1/3 cup coconut oil
1 cup flour seasoned with salt and pepper
cooking spray

Rice
2 rice cooker cups brown rice
1 rice cooker cup red rice

Veggie Side
3 cup broccoli florets
1 cup broccoli stems, peeled and sliced thin on the bias
2 medium carrots, peeled and cut into rounds and halved
boiling water
salt

I only have one induction burner so I started with the rice. I washed it and set it to cook and forgot it so I could attend to the veggies. I peeled them, cut them up, and set them aside. Then I dipped each cutlet in oil, then flour-salt n’peppa, egg mixture, and finally breadcrumbs.

I fried the cutlets in the hot skillet rubbed with a bit of oil, until they were brown on both sides. Slice cutlets into strips then set aside.

I heated a large pan with water. Then I cooked the carrots and broccoli stems for 3 minutes. I added the florets and cooked them for another 2 minutes. Drain the veggies.

By then the rice was cooked. I heaped the rice into a bowl, topped the rice with meat, veggies, and barbecue sauce. Then we ate. I love the mixture of brown and red rice. It’s nutty and al dente.

Tell me what you think!

