Meet Gracie

DSC04663This is my brand-new KitchenAid mixer! A heavy-duty professional model.

I got it as an early birthday present from Mimi and Andy.  I’ve already used it to make Rose Levy Berenbaum’s Downy Yellow Butter Cake recipe from The Cake Bible. From Rose, I learned to do what America’s Test Kitchen called “reverse creaming” a method in which all the dry ingredients are combined then mixed with the butter and the other wet ingredients. Until I got my very first KitchenAid, Moby the Great White Mixer,  I never had a mixer powerful enough to do the reverse creaming without over mixing. But I had to give Moby away when I moved back to Thailand,  and now, thanks to Andy and Mimi, meet Gracie. And look what Gracie can do!

DSC04666

One thought on “Meet Gracie

Tell me what you think!

