toffee

DSC05100I’m planning a birthday pie.

Specifically, Andy wants a banoffee pie. A portmanteau of banana and toffee, this is a British dessert that consists of a crushed cookie crust, a layer of toffee, a layer of banana, and a topping of whipped cream.

To make the toffee, I opened two cans of condensed milk and poured them out into a 9-inch pie plate. I covered the top tightly with foil and then I put the pie plate in a baking tray. I poured hot water in the tray so that it came halfway up the sides of the pie plate. Then I baked it at 425˚F/225˚C . I checked the toffee at 25 minute intervals to make sure the water did not boil out, and to add more hot water as needed. There was no need to open the foil cover because I could see the milk through the glass sides. As soon as it turned light golden brown, I took it out of the oven. It took 1 hour and 40 minutes to make this toffee.

Tell me what you think!

