Foodie Joanie:

So healthy and delicious too!

Originally posted on Savory Simple:

2012 © copyright Savory Simple, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright Savory Simple, all rights reserved

This is my daily breakfast.  It’s very filling and so healthy.  I like this smoothie so much that I used it to kick my morning caffeine habit.  I used to look forward to coffee.  Now I crave my smoothie.

May I talk about flax seed for a moment?  One of the most common nutrition complaints I hear from people is that they don’t get enough fiber in their diet.  Indeed, it can be quite difficult to get the recommended 20-35 grams per day, especially if you don’t eat a lot of fruits and veggies.  1 1/2 tablespoons of flax seed has 4 grams of fiber!  That’s the same as eating a cup of brussels sprouts.   In addition to containing fiber, flax seed has omega-3 essential fatty acids and lignans, which have antioxidant properties.  There’s evidence that flax seed may help reduce the risk of cancer, heart disease, stroke and…

View original 245 more words

One thought on “

  1. Pingback: Smoothie pics & basics | Organic Eater

Tell me what you think!

